June 23, 2009

Beer review: Mata

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:10 pm by Chris

I’m probably never going to do another beer review in my life, but this beer is from Kawerau, my old home town! I’m so excited to see something other than marijuana and bad news come out of there that you should probably take this entire review with a pinch of salt.

Beer number one: Mata manuka.

This is a light, crisp beer with a hint of honey and a hoppy aftertaste. Very drinkable, slightly reminiscent of Bees Knees. I imagine it would be just the ticket on a hot summer’s afternoon, rather than, say, the middle of winter when it’s about three degrees and dropping outside. Nonetheless, if you like a light (light coloured that is:  alcohol-wise this one claims 5%) beer I think I can recommend it. I don’t really enjoy light beers with a hoppy aftertaste, so I probably won’t get more for myself. But don’t let me put you off, if I didn’t I mistrust beers I can see through I’d be stocking up on this.

Beer number two: Mata Artesian

This one’s upfront with itself, surprising since it’s even more see-through. Hoppy, and do I detect a subtle kind of fruitiness? I think I do. I also detect myself sounding like a pretentious wanker, so I’ll stop that right there. A little smoother than the Manuka, with less aftertaste. I had this one with doner kebabs and a healthy serve of Kaitaia fire, and it washed it down very nicely. Again, more of a summer beer, but not a bad drop at all. Go buy some.

Now,  I hear that Mata brewery has quite an extensive selection, including such exotica as a feijoa beer. I may have to go and sample more exhaustively next time I visit the old stomping ground. Hic.

Leave a Reply

